NITI Aayog or National Institution for Transforming India Aayog is a policy think-tank aims to involve the states in economic policy-making in India. It will be providing strategic and technical advice to the central and the state governments. Prime Minister of India heads the Aayog as its chairperson.

Government had announced formation of NITI Aayog on 1 January 2015.


The NITI Aayog comprises of the following members : Prime Minister of India as the Chairperson Governing Council comprising the Chief Ministers of all the States and Lieutenant Governors of Union Territories Regional Councils will be formed to address specific issues and contingencies impacting more than one state or a region. These will be formed for a specified tenure. The Regional Councils will be convened by the Prime Minister and will comprise of the Chief Ministers of States and Lt. Governors of Union Territories in the region. These will be chaired by the Chairperson of the NITI Aayog or his nominee Experts, specialists and practitioners with relevant domain knowledge as special invitees nominated by the Prime Minister. Full-time organizational framework (in addition to Prime Minister as the Chairperson) comprising of: Vice-Chairperson: To be appointed by the Prime Minister Members: Two (2) Full-time Part-time members: Maximum of two from leading universities research organizations and other relevant institutions in an ex-officio capacity. Part time members will be on a rotational basis Ex Officio members: Maximum of four members of the Union Council of Ministers to be nominated by the Prime Minister Chief Executive Officer: To be appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed tenure, in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India Secretariat as deemed necessary.

Present Members:

The various members of NITI Aayog are:

  1. Chairperson: Prime Minister Narendra Modi
  2. Vice Chairperson: Arvind Panagariya
  3. Ex-Officio Members: Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Suresh Prabhu and Radha Mohan Singh
  4. Special Invitees: Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Zubin Irani and Thawar Chand Gehlot
  5. Full-time Members: Bibek Debroy & V. K. Saraswat
  6. Governing Council: All Chief Ministers and Lieutenant Governors of Union Territories
  7. CEO: Sindhushree Khullar

(Visited 35 times, 1 visits today)